The code we as Muslims should be cautious off from a halal perspective is: Food colour (120) â Carmines or Carminic acid or Cochineal (colour). Cochineal is used to produce scarlet, orange and other red tints. Here is some information on E120: "A deep crimson dye is extracted from the female cochineal insects. Look for the colour 160a instead. Carmine (/ËkÉrmÉªn/ or /ËkÉrmaÉªn/), also called a crimson lake, cochineal, natural red 4, C.I. This is because this cochineal food colour is made by the crushing of insects â and insects are not regarded as halal. Latitude regarding the consumption of insects do exists within the Maliki school, however, one is advised to follow the guidelines offered by the local halal certifying bodies. This stuff is linked to all sorts of healthy issues with scientific studies showing it â¦ Fax : 022-23759169. INDIA. The matter came to light when a Gulf News reader questioned the food colouring ingredient E120 found in several imported sweets, claiming that it was made of crushed insects.Gulf News talked to Sharjah Municipality about the food colouring substance E120 also known as carmine. Cochineal extract's natural carminic-acid content is usually 19â22%. Tel. The colouring comes from carminic acid. Pure colour Lake of above colour Blend / Mixtures of Lake colours Preparations of above colours JAMIAT ULAMA HALAL FOUNDATION (Formerly : Halal Committee Jamiat Ulama - E - Maharashtra) Imam Bada Compound, Imam Bada Road, Near Mughal Masjid, Bhindi Bazar, Mumbai - 400 009. Indigo Carmine / Idigotine Color: Halal if use as is as a 100% synthetic color but if pork glycerin is added as a solvent then it is Haram: E141: Copper Complex of Chlorophyll Color: Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent: E142: Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS Color: Halals if used as 100% dry color. Artificial sweeteners â Found in food, drinks and chewing gum marked "Diet" or "Sugar free". Cell : +91-9321222774. E120(i) is the pure colour, whereas E120(ii) is the crude extract. Find out which food additives are vegan friendly. Lists E and non-prefixed additives ranging from colouring and preservatives to thickeners and more.This page lists all additives that are Colour and marks which are vegan friendly You can find this in everything burger buns, ice-creams, yoghurts, custard etc. Carminic Acid, also known as Carmine and Cohineal or by its E number E120, is a food colouring derived from insects, commonly beetles. Food colour (122) â Azorubine or Carmoisine (colour). 75470, or E120, is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained from the aluminium salt of carminic acid; it is also a general term for a particularly deep-red color of the same name. : 022-2373 5373. Color: Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent: E142: Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS: Color: Halal if used as 100% dry color. 2.